Order of WBBL Draft confirmed

The Melbourne Renegades have drawn the Pick #3 in this year's Weber WBBL|10 Draft.

The Renegades will sit behind Hobart Hurricanes (Pick #1) and Sydney Sixers (Pick #2) in the pecking order when all eight clubs convene at the official draft to add some world-class talent to their squad.

The order of selections was determined via two Draft Lottery draws - conducted by TPAL Australia in the presence of Club General Managers and League officials - with picks 1-4 drawn between non-WBBL|09 finalists and picks 5-8 drawn between those that went the distance.


The Renegades were given a higher probability (40%) of receiving the coveted #Pick 1, due to their eighth-place finish at the conclusion of WBBL|09, but both the Purple and Majenta mobs lucked out.

The WBBL|10 Draft Lottery order is:

1)       Hobart Hurricanes
2)       Sydney Sixers
3)       Melbourne Renegades
4)       Melbourne Stars
5)       Sydney Thunder
6)       Adelaide Strikers
7)       Brisbane Heat
8)       Perth Scorchers

The Lottery determines the order of selections in Rounds One, Two and Four of the Draft. Round Three is conducted in reverse order.

Clubs can bring in up to four overseas players in the Draft, inclusive of any pre-signed, multi-year international player who must be allocated to a Draft pick during the event and matched with the player's salary band.

The fourth player selected becomes the Club’s first overseas replacement player.

Dates and broadcast details for the Draft will be announced shortly.

Confirmation of the Lottery outcome follows today’s earlier announcement of a two-year extension with WBBL naming rights partner, Weber Barbecues.

Official Partners