Champions League best to represent Renegades | Melbourne Renegades - BBL
Cricket network logo

Champions League best to represent Renegades

15 February 2018

Akshay Kodath impressed for India in the Champions League and has been in dominant form for Ivanhoe in the VSDCA.

They are fierce rivals on the field but South Asia’s most talented cricketers are about to unite to help the Melbourne Renegades take home some silverware.


The Club’s Champions League tournament will reach its climax on February 20th and February 21st when a representative Renegades team takes on the Sydney Thunder in a three match T20 Series.

The Renegades line up will feature the stand out players from the Champions League including seven players currently playing in Victoria’s Premier Cricket competition and several leading players from suburban competitions.

Ejaaz Alavi, Premier Cricket’s best white ball spinner this summer, headlines the side that will be led by Kingston Hawthorn all-rounder Ryan Ninan.

The Champions League tournament sees South Asian cricketers currently playing in Melbourne try-out to represent their country of origin.

More than 800 players registered with the best selected to play for the six competing nations – India, Nepal, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

A round robin series before Christmas culminated in a final between India and Afghanistan last month, with India emerging victorious.

Now the top players from the tournament have been picked to represent the Melbourne Renegades against a Sydney Thunder line-up that will boast at least six local Premier Cricket players.

Melbourne Renegades v Sydney Thunder

Preston City Oval

Game One: Tuesday February 20, 2pm

Game Two: Wednesday February 21, 10am

Game Three: Wednesday February 21, 2pm

Renegades squad:

Zaheer Hussain, Pakistan, Greenvale CC

Ejaaz Alavi (Vice Captain), Sri Lanka, Fitzroy Doncaster CC

Adam Amin, Afghanistan, Richmond CC

Javid Khan, Afghanistan, Kingston Hawthorn CC

Shorye Chopra, India, Kingston Hawthorn CC

Ryan Ninan (Captain), India, Kingston Hawthorn CC

Umair Butt, Pakistan, Greenvale CC

Sunam Gautam, Nepal, Greenvale CC

Hussain Ali, Afghanistan, Narre Warren CC

Yash Pednekar, India, Richmond CC

Susantha Pradeep, Sri Lanka, Buckley Ridges CC

Manny Singh, India, Williams Landing CC

Akshay Kodath, India, Ivanhoe CC,

Kamran Murtaza, Afghanistan, Jindvick CC